About Ireland

Ireland: What you need to know

The island is about 300 miles long and 170 miles wide, and covers approximately 32,600 square miles.

Ireland has 32 counties. There are 26 in the Republic of Ireland and 6 in Northern Ireland.

The Republic of Ireland is a parliamentary democracy with a president as head of state. Northern Ireland has its own regional government, but is part of the United Kingdom.

There are about 6 million people living on the island – 4.3 million people live in the Republic of Ireland and 1.7 million in Northern Ireland. One third of the population is under the age of 29.

More information about Ireland could be found on: https://www.ireland.com/en-us/articles/practical-information/


Do you want to make a walk in Dublin?

Find out one of Irelands beautiful walks via: https://www.ireland.com/en-us/destinations/republic-of-ireland/dublin/articles/dublin-five-walks-outside-the-city/